Skip to Content.Skip to Navigation.
Daily Summaries: 0 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11
Squash Sport Logo

Squash History

Peter Nicol of England in action at the Brit Insurance Super Series Finals in 2004.

Peter Nicol of England in action at the Brit Insurance Super Series Finals in 2004.

Squash is a recent addition to the Commonwealth Games, making its debut in 1998 in Kuala Lumpur.

As many of the sport's strongest players hail from Commonwealth countries, Squash's inclusion in the Commonwealth Games saw the game's elite battle for Gold medal glory in Kuala Lumpur.

Peter Nicol of Scotland overcame rival Jonathon Power in the Men's Singles. Michelle Martin defeated Sarah Fitz-Gerald in an all-Australian Womens Final.

Englishmen Mark Chaloner and Paul Johnson claimed the Men's Doubles Gold, while countrywomen Cassie Jackman and Sue Wright were victorious in the Women's Doubles. Michelle Martin brought home another gold medal for Australia, partnering Craig Rowland for success in the Mixed Doubles.

In Previous Games

The Commonwealth Games in Manchester 2002 saw Australian Squash legend Sarah Fitz-Gerald achieve the only prize that had eluded her, a Commonwealth Games Singles gold medal. She defeated her long-time rival and former Australian team-mate Carol Owens, who was representing New Zealand.

In the Men's Singles event, another great rivalry continued with a repeat of the Kuala Lumpur 1998 gold-medal match between former Scotsman Peter Nicol of England, and flamboyant Canadian Jonathon Power. However, the 1998 result was reversed and Power took home the gold medal for Canada.

In the doubles events, New Zealand claimed gold in both the Mixed Doubles and Women's Doubles, with both teams featuring former New Zealand number one, Leilani Rorani. Men's Doubles gold was won for England by Peter Nicol and Lee Beachill, defeating the Australian pairing of Anthony Ricketts and Stewart Boswell.

Of the 8 gold medals awarded in Squash, New Zealand claimed 4, England 2 and Australia and Canada 1 each.

Overall, Australia won 12 medals (1 Gold, 2 Silver, 9 Bronze), England 12 (2 Gold, 3 Silver, 7 Bronze), New Zealand 5 (4 Gold, 1 Silver) and Malaysia 2 (2 Silver).

At Melbourne 2006

All Squash matches will take place at Australia's premier Squash facility, the Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre (SAC). The Sports and Aquatic Centre features nine international Squash courts including some that can be converted to doubles courts, and one permanent, all-glass championship court.

All the premier action will take place on the brand new all-glass, adaptable for doubles court that is the first fully transportable court of this design to be built in the world, and was designed specifically for the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games.

The singles competition will feature a knockout draw, while the doubles event will have preliminary round robin draws, with the successful pairs moving on to a knockout stage.

What's New

Competition will be fierce with fewer medals to compete for since the sport's introduction in 1998. There will now be playoff matches for bronze medals as opposed to all losing semi-finalists receiving bronze medals as at the past two Commonwealth Games.

Experience Melbourne
Experience Melbourne.
Events, arts, food and wine... there's more to Melbourne than meets the eye.
Find out more about Melbourne.
View great merchandise in the Online Shop.
Wear, swap, give and live to be part of the Commonwealth Games.
See great gifts in our Online Shop.
Navigation Menu
Karak's footprints
Shooting information